Red Pill or Blue Pill?

Morpheus said, “This is your last chance. After this, there is no turning back. You take the blue pill—the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill—you stay in Wonderland, and I show you how deep the rabbit hole goes. Remember: all I’m offering is the truth. Nothing more.”

aaeaaqaaaaaaaaqsaaaajdjmmjgwnju1lwfmyzmtndm5ny1hzjuwlwq5njblnwuzyzc4nw

That was from a scene in The Matrix. I picked this movie to respond to the post Youth and the City of Florence.  Mr Anderson have to make a decision. Does he want to take the blue pill and wake up as if nothing had happened, that he had been in a bad dream? Or does he take the red pill and see the real truth? He took the red pill and the Matrix was a lie all along.

I find that there are a large group of people in SGM who knew about the issues today but still choose to turn a blind eye. They would rather practice on their own and focus on the duties at hand, hoping that the problem will go away. This is all fine and dandy, to each his own style.

But it reminds me of the character Mr Reagan, who betrayed Neo and his friends.

steak

He was having dinner with Agent Smith. He knew the steak does not exist.

“I know that when I put it in my mouth, the Matrix is telling my brain that it is juicy and… delicious.”

ignorance

He chose to be ignorant. He chose to live in a lie.

Nichiren Daishonin said that:

If the lion is sleeping and you do not wake him, he will not roar.
If the current is swift but you do not pull against it with your oar, no waves will rise up.
If you do not accuse the thief to his face, he will remain unruffled;
If you do not add fuel to the fire, it will not blaze up.

In the same way, though there may be those who slander the Law, if no one comes forward to expose their error, then the government will continue for the time being on its regular course, and the nation will remain undisturbed.

How should we, as individual, respond to the current crisis? I don’t know myself. I think many of you are equally lost. But one thing is clear to me. I cannot turn my back, nor can I live with a lie. I cannot assume that everything is still a beautiful rose garden. Some leaders started to share good news of the new SGI Asia Culture & Education Centre. Some shared photos of windmills that they made in WhatsApp. I am thinking, are they being a hypocrite or are they ignorant? Maybe they chose the blue pill and that’s why the “char siew” remained juicy and delicious.

But this is important. Apathy (“boh chap” in Hokkien) is our greatest enemy. Not corruption or arrogance of anyone. All it takes evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing. I still remember in one NHR, Sensei used the example of seeing a big rock on a railway track. If you do nothing and the train derailed because of the rock, the cause you are creating is the same as if you are the one putting the rock in the track.

We cannot do nothing. We cannot take the blue pill. We have to continue to ask question to SGM leaders and get a satisfactory answer. If we kept quiet, evil will continue to fester and grow. The power lies in each of us. If we are of the same mind, we will be able to get our answers, we will be able to make a change. If the organization is straight, if the organization is just, this can only result in a huge growth in kosen rufu movement in Malaysia. 40 years of stagnation is a proof of a bent body. This cannot continue on.

 

One thought on “Red Pill or Blue Pill?

  1. Sometimes, our members are afraid. Afraid to question. Afraid to dig. What if, they may be thinking, that after digging more and more, I actually see that this SGM, which I had given my whole/half of my life to, is wrong? Wouldn’t that make me a laughing stock to my friends and relatives?
    On the other hand, if we are concern about the future of the organisation, our children and our children’s children, to be able to grow up and develop into kind and strong leaders in SGM, then, we must not choose ‘see no evil’ and ‘hear no evil’ policy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

